Joskua

(KINDA) Feeling that coding fever again

Ok so, some people know I've been kinda messing around with computers as soon as I learnt how to read, but between my neurodivergencies, how most materials were in English, and other personal factors, I never totally got into coding; it felt like the pinnacle of intelligence, stuff only for big-brained people. In 2023, my perception about coding changed and I knew I was probably capable of learning how to do it.

But one big issue is, learning needs to serve some purpose. You learn something to achieve something. I don't have any real uses for R right now, but I know it is a good tool for teaching statistics and it allows me to look competitive as a professor, so it's something I should prioritize learning over, idk, JS.

But sometimes, when I read articles from people who do techy stuff, my brain can't avoid going "LET'S FUCKING LEARN HOW TO DO THIS, LET'S LEARN HOW TO SELF-HOST SOME APPLICATION, CREATE A STATIC SITE USING HUGO, GO HAAAAAAAAAAAAAM", but as it happened with my HTML+CSS learning... why would I do this? Ofc, I know, learning is always welcomed, and if someone feels pleasure doing something as a hobby that's more than enough... but remember, I have way too many hobbies, some of them involve some learning/practice/a desire to see improvements, and given my very limited mental and physical energy... yeah, no.

I definitely want to learn how to self-deploy tools, or dropping my personal Carrd site for something made from scratch... but it's probably not worth the hassle right now. I could probably try to entirely move to here in Mataroa, but I kinda like the idea of having a blog separate from my site? or idk... also, I would like a solution where I can block AI crawlers from robots.txt... but I don't want to make a sketchbook gallery from scratch cries inside. It's time I would take away from painting and video editing, stuff I love and that I already can't focus a lot on...

I guess... I'll figure shit out someday.